Week 4 & 5

So week 4 was my first week to strike out!  That’s why I missed on the blog last week.  Plus this was my fish week playing single mom, as my hubby headed back to work a couple days after Memorial Day.  I had Weakfish (aka Squeteague), Tautog (aka Blackfish), Sea Urchin & Lobster.  We did only make it to one store, Hanford’s in Raymond, NH (right down the road from us).  I went through my list with the employee at the supermarket and the feedback I received was they were pretty specialty and not something they normally see.  They did have lobster, but honestly, picking out a lobster while dealing with a screaming toddler isn’t my idea of a great time.

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 7.55.03 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 7.55.36 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 7.56.38 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 7.59.54 PM

For week 5, my list was Acadian Redfish (aka Ocean Perch), Soft Shell Clams (aka Steamers), Weakfish (aka Squeteague) & Tuna (any locally landed species).  We actually got redfish during week 2 of our NH Community Seafood share and my husband cooked it perfectly, so I was hoping to find that.  

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 8.29.15 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 8.29.45 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 8.30.14 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 8.31.13 PM

I decided to try my luck again at Seaport Fish in Rye, NH, and they ended up having redfish, steamers & tuna!  I went for the redfish, which was only $7.99/lb.  Only getting a half pound plus a nice head of broccoli my total was less than $5.00 this week!  Much better than the $10+/lb. for lobster.

IMG_0057

The first time we had redfish, my husband wrapped up the fillets in tin foil with some butter, so that was my plan this time as well, but I wanted to take it a step further to cook more in the same amount of time.  I stopped at a local farm on the way home to pick-up some red potatoes and a beautiful cucumber.

IMG_0067

I started by cutting up the potatoes and putting them on the bottom of the packet, then mixed up some butter and put the fish fillets over the potatoes.

IMG_0068

Finally I wrapped it up into a nice little pocket and stuck it on the grill.

IMG_0069

I cooked the packet on the grill for about 20ish minutes (checked it out after 10, but the fish was still a little slimy).  Unfortunately, the potatoes should have cooked longer, so most of our potatoes were uncooked and I forgot to season the fish before I cooked it, so our meals were not as good as when hubby cooked them…

IMG_0070

I did have leftover fish the next day, so we had fish tacos for dinner!  (One was chicken, but the fish was definitely the better one)

IMG_0078

Leave a Reply

